Williamson County history dates back hundreds of years. Explore the many towns that feature historical monuments and museums throughout the county. To enhance your historical experience the Williamson County Historical Society offers tours of the Williamson County Historical Museum; after completing the tour you can explore the on-site research library.
Opened in June 2011, the Carterville Heritage Museum is a beautifully renovated building showcasing architectural detail of former 1924 high school, hundreds of photo and memorabilia. It also serves as a gift shop, offering nostalgic, custom designed t-shirts, retro candy, gift baskets, a few antiques, and popular hand-made cards made by community volunteers. It features books on the Tri-C community for sale, including Carterville, Cambria, & Crainville: A Look Back At Our Towns and SIU's A Weekend In Carterville, Cambria, & Crainville.
In the late eighteen hundreds there were several mines in the locale that accounted for the livelihood of the residents. There were many thriving communities that were totally dependent on the mines. Now there is a Memorial to honor all miners. The monument depicts a miner returning home, being greeted by his small son, after a day in the pits. Dedicated on October 14th 2000, the Coal Miners Memorial is a tribute to all Southern Illinois coal miners of the past century. The inscription at the base of the statue reads, “In memory of coal miners who gave so much that future generations may benefit with a better life... More »
A World War I memorial stature, “The Spirit of The American Dough Boy” was dedicated on September 6, 1927 following its acquisition through a project sponsored jointly by the local American Legion and VFW Posts. The solider is forever immortalized in statue form, the solider is seen is his war apparel and stance. The Dough Boy is a symbol of freedom and remembrance of those who fought for our land. The Dough Boy sits in the heart of Herrin on Park Avenue Street after multiple relocations... More »
The beginning of the chapel was a project of the Marion Woman's Club. The women proposed that such a chapel be created and found Leroy A. Goddard receptive. He countered with a proposal that he would build the chapel if Marion would enlarge its cemetery properties. The city complied by purchasing 27 additional acres to be laid off into burial plots.The Chicago banker brought his own architect and contractors to Marion and the cornerstone of the chapel was laid June 12, 1918. A time capsule which was a copper box placed in the cornerstone contained a brief biography of the donor, and a statement by Mayor E... More »
The Robert L. Mees Village Centre serves as the hub of the Harrison/Bruce Historical Village by providing a venue for College and community events. Historical buildings include: The Purdy School, a one-room public school in Perry County, IL from 1860-1951. The Julia Harrison Bruce House, a replica of the house the house that was built in 1868 by David Ruffin Harrison. The Harrison Storefront, this "double dog trot" style log cabin is a replica of the cabin the David Ruffin Harrison family occupied prior to the construction of the brick, "Harrison House"... More »
Herrin City Library is your community connection to print, video, audio, and online information around the world. Featuring the Herrin History Room, a growing collection of archival information about the City of Herrin and the Williamson County area. We also have some genealogical information about Herrin families. We have city directories and yearbooks for the Herrin Schools. We do have a large collection of Herrin newspapers on microfilm from the 1800s to about 1945.
One of the few remaining Carnegie buildings is seated at the center of Williamson County. Originally built in 1916 and renovated in 1997, the library has the flavor of the early 20th century with the technology of today.
Beautiful laser inscribed veterans memorial in Rosehill Cemetery in Marion, Illinois. This black stone monument is inscribed both front and back with soaring eagles and other photographic scenes. The memorial honors all veterans and also has a special part honoring two local Medal of Honor recipients. The monument has bronze seals of each branch of service pressed into its surface. The monument is flanked by flag poles. The monument of The memorial is located in the south portion of the cemetery with the road leading directly to it.
Opened in 2010, this 3000 square foot space is located in the Illinois Star Centre Mall. It keeps mall hours and is staffed by volunteers. Admission is free and the museum is stocked with items from Ken Gray's Congressional period as well as items he has collected from other congressmen and women.